Woods, Mickelson and DeChambeau in US Ryder Cup team

Phil Mickelson and Tiger Woods

Mickelson and Woods last played in the same Ryder Cup team in 2012 at Medinah

Tiger Woods, Phil Mickelson and Bryson DeChambeau have been chosen as wildcard picks for the United States team to face Europe in this month’s Ryder Cup.

Woods, 42, returns as a player for the first time since 2012, having recovered from back surgery and after finishing second at the US PGA Championship.

Mickelson, 48, plays in a record 12th event after making his debut in 1995.

On Monday Jim Furyk will make his final captain’s pick for the event in France, which takes place from 28-30 September.

“We were looking for players that have a body of work, players that are in good form and we’re heading to Europe, playing on foreign soil, so wanted players that would handle that situation and thrive on it,” Furyk said.

On Woods he added: “We’re all excited to see him healthy again and his game playing well. It’s a feather in our cap to have him in our side.”

“I haven’t been part of the team playing-wise for six years,” Woods said. “To have the honour to play again is beyond special.”

Five-time major winner Mickelson had jointly held the record for most appearances with England’s Nick Faldo, who played in 11 editions of the biennial event from 1977.

DeChambeau is in fine form, having won the previous two PGA Tour events and finishing ninth in the US Ryder Cup qualification standings, with the top eight being automatically selected, leaving Furyk to make four wildcard picks.

US Open and US PGA Championship champion Brooks Koepka, Masters winner Patrick Reed, world number one Dustin Johnson, Justin Thomas, Bubba Watson, Jordan Spieth, Rickie Fowler and Webb Simpson had all qualified automatically.

Mickelson was 10th in the standings, with 14-time major champion and former world number one Woods 11th.

Woods had been down to be a non-playing vice-captain for the US team but Furyk said he would still be aiming to draw on his knowledge and experience while freeing him up to play.

He has confirmed he had added David Duval, Zach Johnson and Matt Kuchar to his backroom team as a result.

United States are the current holders, having won 17-11 in 2016 at Hazeltine, but have not triumphed on European soil since a 15-13 victory at The Belfry in 1993.

Open champion Francesco Molinari, Justin Rose, Tyrrell Hatton, Tommy Fleetwood, Jon Rahm, Rory McIlroy, Alex Noren and Thorbjorn Olesen are in the Europe side with captain Thomas Bjorn set to announce his quartet of wildcard picks at 14:00 BST on Wednesday, 5 September.

  • Sign up to get golf news sent to your phone

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Translate This Page ยป